Revisiting Grand Theft Auto V

Review

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Introduction

Whether you have played the game or not, I’m sure everyone today is familiar with Grand Theft Auto V (GTA V) and its top-rated franchise. With the next game in the franchise (GTA VI) reported to be nearing the end of development, I decided to look back at one of my favourite games and why it’s become such a success.

GTA V became an instant classic among the gaming community back when it was released in September of 2013, and it is still considered one of the most popular games nearly ten years later. I have played GTA V hundreds of times since I first picked up the game all the way back in middle school, but even still today, as I near graduation of my second college program, I find myself occasionally going back to GTA V and the fast-paced world of Los Santos.

Gameplay

Not many people may even bother paying attention to the storyline of GTA V, but before you overlook it, I encourage you to take a moment to try it out because when you do, there is such an amazing story that unfolds. If you do try the story, you will be introduced to the characters Micheal, Franklin and Trevor, and through your journey, you will quickly see how their worlds collide and the string of chaos that they will inevitably cause the city of Los Santos. This storyline is so much fun to play through, and the characters you play as and meet along the way will easily become close to your heart. Without spoiling anything, the ending of the game can have very different results depending on your choices, so if you want to keep your gang of lovable criminals happy, you’re gonna want to make sure to make the right decision when it’s needed. 

While every gamer should make it a priority to finish the storyline at least once in their lifetime, nothing beats just wandering the world and seeing what mayhem can be caused. The game is filled with side missions, collectibles and different hobbies you can take part in, so it’s hard to ever be bored in the world of GTA V. 10 years since the game was released, and I still have much to do and uncover in the world, and I doubt I will ever come close to 100% completion.

In my opinion, the best part of GTA V is that anyone can play it; well, maybe not kids, but anyone old enough who can hold a controller can enjoy GTA V, even the most inexperienced of players. I personally mostly enjoy GTA V when I hand the controller to one of my friends (preferably someone with little video game experience) and let them loose in the world to do whatever they please. This usually ends in hilarious yet disastrous police chases and countless casualties, but in GTA V, where there are little to no consequences, who cares?

Photo by: Lily Sherry
Photo by: Lily Sherry

Conclusion

GTA V has become a staple in many people’s video game collections, especially its online counterpart. I don’t play online games very much, if you haven’t been able to tell from the games I discuss. Still, the amusing storyline, the memorable characters like Franklin and Micheal (Sorry, not a big Trevor fan), and the vast world found in the main storyline have had me waiting in anticipation for a new game for some time now. Hopefully, Rockstar will gift us with Grand Theft Auto VI one day, but until then, I’m sure many people will still find themselves playing this hilariously entertaining game for many years to come.

Don’t Forget

Leave a like and subscribe to the Lilshroooom blog for updates on our latest posts so you can stay up to date on all of the best video game news! And don’t forget to share this post with others!

Make sure to check out some of the Lilshroooom blog’s other latest posts:



Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started